Day 74: (Water) Walking D(r)ead

20140318-223910.jpg

 

In tandem with my adventure-filled walks [otherwise known as The Walking D(r)ead], today I tried water walking.

The main difference? You don’t sweat! Or, at least, you don’t know if you sweat, because it’s awfully hard to separate pool water from the water your body’s secreted. I know. Gross.

The other difference? I also feel sore all over–definitely more of a full-body workout, given the arm and leg resistance. Water, it turns out, resists almost as much as my kids when I tell them to practice piano.

20130926233258!Season_four_daryl_dixon

You know those nightmares where you are being chased by zombies and there’s no Daryl there to save you? When it kinda feels like you are running through molasses? That’s what water walking is like; that, with a twist of fashion-nightmare elements thrown in. To water walk, 0ne must don a large, unflattering floaty belt in hospital-scrubs blue.  All I needed were the blow-up “muscle” floaties with pictures of Mickey Mouse wrapped around my arms, and I would’ve resembled Benjamin Button at some point during his backward aging process.

Still, there’s no sweating involved. That’s a deal-maker. I am only willing to sweat in certain situations, and pretty much all of them involve my celebrity crushes.

________________________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

 

One thought on “Day 74: (Water) Walking D(r)ead

  1. I don’t know if its a similar thing, but I started these Aqua exercise classes and the instructor would make us “water run”. And we’d have to make a running motion in the water which is meant to propel us through the water, but it usually just leaves me in the one spot. I barely move and everyone around me is overtaking me multiple times. They do multiple laps of the pool while I’m still in the one spot.
    But the not sweating thing is great!

Post a Comment

