Day 73: Baking Gluten-Free

20140318-135402.jpg

I’ve been gluten-free for several months, now, but–not being a baker–I’ve avoided making my own stuff, instead buying off the shelf or from gluten-free bakeries.

I decided it was time to stop being lazy  try something new and to bake a gluten-free goodie.

I found a recipe for a Blueberry Crumble, which I followed except for the poppyseed part. I’m not a poppyseed fan; maybe it has to do with being traumatized by the poppy field scene in the Wizard of Oz; who knows? Anyway, here’t the recipe, with the outcome in the photo at the top (yes, that really is my crumble… or, should I say, crumble attempt).

It was actually pretty good! I can’t say that it was as delicious as a regular crumble, but it came close. And these days, that’s good enough for me.

Wild Blueberry Crumble (vegan & gluten-free)
Prep time
15 mins
Cook time
40 mins
Total time
55 mins
Author: Eatingbirdfood.com
Serves: 8
Ingredients
  • 2½ cups frozen wild blueberries (no thawing required)
  • 2-3 Tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 Tablespoon arrowroot (or cornstarch)
  • 1 Tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup old fashioned oatmeal
  • 1 cup oat flour
  • ⅓ cup coconut sugar
  • ¼ cup extra-virgin coconut oil, solid state, broken into chunks
  • ½ cup unsweetened cinnamon apple sauce
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon poppy seeds (optional)
Instructions
  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Line an 8 inch square pan with parchment paper.
  2. In a bowl, stir together the maple syrup, arrowroot, vanilla and lemon juice. Gently mix in the blueberries. Sit aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, stir together oatmeal, oat flour, coconut sugar, baking powder and salt. Add in apple sauce, stir. Then stir in coconut oil. Dough will be crumbly. Separate dough in half and press one half into the bottom of the prepared pan.
  4. Pour the blueberry mixture evenly over the crust.
  5. Stir poppy seeds into the remaining mixture of dough and crumble over the berry layer.
  6. Bake in preheated oven for 40 minutes, or until top crumbled pieces are slightly brown. Cool for about 20 minutes and serve.

________________________

Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

Post a Comment

