Day 67: Walking D(r)ead

the_walk_app

Remember my post about training for a 5k? It’s hard to try to run in cold, icy conditions when you’re a gimp, so I figured I’d try to keep the momentum by walking. (When I’m ready to pound the pavement again I might invest in the Zombies, Run! 5k training app. It’s supposed make working out fun by telling stories of how your life is about to end with zombies gnawing at your heels. Makes sense.)

In the meantime, I downloaded the Walk app, which, sadly does not focus on zombies (which would allow me to daydream about Daryl); instead, there are a variety of adventures that incorporate you as part of the storyline. By meeting certain distance milestones, you unlock another story installment.

It did make for some goal-oriented walking, as I stared at my screen while watching a little icon that mirrored my speed make its way around the course. (I am wont to dreading exercise, so every type of motivating device helps…or can’t hurt, anyway.) The story I listened to was not particularly compelling, though I like the idea of being entertained while sweating.  I’ve never worked out to an app before.

In thinking about it, I’m considering asking a friend to make a homegrown app. Maybe he could record bits and pieces of some good Walking Dead or Game of Thrones fanfiction. I’ll reward myself with a snippet every so often, hitting play if I feel I’m working hard enough and denying myself when I’m slacking off. Maybe he will even substitute my name for one of the characters while he’s recording.  I would walk for miles to hear my name and Daryl’s or Jon Snow’s in the same sentence…

If you’ve got some good fanfic stories to recommend, lemme know…

________________________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

Post a Comment

