Day 65: Learning Icelandic

godafoss-aurora-iceland_65568_990x742

Tomorrow is a big night, what with the True Detective finale and my moonshine date with Mr. Dixon.

So I figured I should find a useful way to pass the time…and I realized, hey, wait a minuteI’m go in’ to Iceland soon! I don’t have to live my life vicariously through my TV and film “family” anymore. I have my own life! With my own adventures!

That’s right, Bradley! No more fantasizing about running through the streets with you at my side.

Take THAT, James Franco–I won’t spend one more second wondering why you ignore my posts.

And, YOU, Norman…I’ve officially quit daydreamin’ ’bout climbin’ on the back of Daryl’s bike with him…you…him. Whatever.

Ok, wait! Wait! I was just kidding! Ignore that! I do care, I do! I really do! And, Daryl-Pookie, dang it, I DO want a ride on the back of that chopper witcha!

Still, it is true that I do have some semblance of a real life, and I *am* going to Iceland. So what better way to fill the time until I flick on the telly than by learning a few phrases in prep for my trip? I can assure you I’ve not attempted to speak any Icelandic before.

“How to” videos are all over the place, so it wasn’t very hard to find ones to teach me some conversation tidbits.

Luckily for me English is spoken by just about everyone, because as I was practicing I realized I sounded like the Swedish Chef from Sesame Street.

__________________________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

3 thoughts on “Day 65: Learning Icelandic

  1. Thank you for liking “Fun Verticality.” I think it is great that you are enjoying living your own life now. I hope you have a wonderful time in Iceland. Good luck with your new adventure! 🙂

Post a Comment

