Day 65: Making (Adult) Snow Angels

20140308-233234.jpg

Ok, this is a bit of a cheat, considering I have technically made snow angels before…but never as a full-fledged adult. And never as an adult recovering from spinal cord surgery.

Given that it took me about 20 minutes to get down and at least twice that long to get up, I think it counts as an official “experience.”

Once lying in the snow I was actually quite comfortable; truthfully, at that point I was more tempted to take a long nap than to windmill my arms and legs to make the angel.

But I was committed to my goal, and I did it.

It was not without incident, however. A neighbor who glimpsed me lying there ran out and–convinced that I’d fallen and couldn’t get up–was poised to call 911.

An old woman walking her dog failed to notice that Rover nearly mistook me for a fire hydrant.

And I caught my husband speaking over the phone to a family member in hushed tones. I was just able to make out a few words; they sounded frighteningly similar to, “chemical imbalance” and “medical intervention.” One snippet of conversation I definitely caught was, “supremely bored.”

And if you’re thinking that this is a pretty darn pathetic experience to write about, have heart. I’ve already procured my moonshine, so I am primed for a real danged good first experience during my Sunday Walking Dead Drinkin’ With Daryl game… So stay tuned.
____________________________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

2 thoughts on “Day 65: Making (Adult) Snow Angels

Post a Comment

