Day 62: Making (Moonshine?) Snow Ice Cream

20140305-223117.jpg

Growing up in a place where snowstorms were frequent, it never crossed my mind to try something like this. Snow was something to be grudgingly shoveled and tossed aside, not the subject of a Food Network episode…particularly because we had dogs frolicking and doing other things in the snow, if you know what I mean.

Fast forward a number years (that number will remain undefined), and here I am, eating snow…and rather enjoying it. It’s most certainly better than eating crow, literally and figuratively.

The kids found a recipe online and– bring the resourceful, non-dog-owning creatures they are–they were eager to run out and scoop some fresh snow into a bowl. (I didn’t want to spoil the fun and point out how, living in the middle of a city, the snow was probably brimming with environmental toxics and filth they couldn’t see. I didn’t want to be a complete killjoy. Everything in moderation, right?)

Ingredients
8 cups snow
1 can sweetened condensed milk
vanilla extract
Directions
Gather snow in bowl. Add can of condensed milk and vanilla to taste. Mix. Serve.

I briefly considered packaging it and selling it as organic artisan ice cream made from locally grown ingredients (as in, snow from our stoop). But I figured I’d stop while I was ahead. Making and eating snow ice cream is a “first,” and we’ll leave it at that.

Unless, hmmm… Snow Moonshine Ice Cream (Carl, man, forget puddin’; Daryl and me got us some fiiiine moonshine!)…now *that* may be a good business decision and lead to a whole other trajectory of “firsts”…


_________________________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

5 thoughts on “Day 62: Making (Moonshine?) Snow Ice Cream

    • It actually was pretty good! The problem is that it melts super quickly, so you either have to sit outside and make it and eat it, scarf it down, or drink it with a straw… which led me to my suggestion of making it a cocktail, haha.

  1. I once had a drink at the Empire Diner called “A Snowball.” Don’t know if they still make it there. It was vodka with a scoop of lemon ice. Sounds like a scoop of this would be good with rum.

    • That does sound delicious! We actually got some pretty good rum when we were in Puerto Rico (I should have mentioned that in my posts about that trip), so I think we should put your suggestion to the test. The last snow has all but melted, so we’ll have to wait for the next storm. And the way this winter’s been going, it probably won’t be long until the flakes start to fall again…

  2. Huh, with all the stacks of snow this winter it never crossed my mind to make ice cream with the blasted stuff. Next year though. It seems like spring has finally completed it’s slow walk around the corner.

Post a Comment

