Day 56: Ridin’ the Rails

20140302-113443.jpg

I’ve ridden the train before, but never in such a last-minute, devil-may-care manner.

After some serious reconfiguring of schedules which required no less than 37.5 phone calls (ok, so maybe not quite so devil-may-care. I cared a little),  I–without rhyme or reason–bought a ticket on the spot and jumped slunk onto the next train headed to New York’s Penn Station.

Look at me! Whee!!! How spontaneous! How crrrrazy!

How…cold! (At, like 10 degrees…and that’s not even the wind chill factor). 

Luckily the kids are in school all day and I can do my work from anywhere, so it’s truly not even all that irresponsible, save the $84 ticket (but it was the cheapest fare, if that makes you feel better).

I think I’ll take a little nap, probably drool all over myself and the unfortunate well-dressed, male passenger next to me (nice tie…Zegna?), and in my dreams heartily congratulate myself for having another daring experience (well, daring for me; I ain’t no Danny Boyle. Like how I can so easily work in another James Franco reference?)

____________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.  

2 thoughts on “Day 56: Ridin’ the Rails

    • Why, thank you! If not daring, it certainly felt a little freeing to do something pretty spontaneous. I had a great deal of cabin fever during those first few hard months of recovery. It feels good to be out and about again, even if I am freezing off my tush!

Post a Comment

