Day 51: Dining Al Burlesque

20140221-012555.jpg

Ok, this is definitely an unexpected first: Thanks to my husband, who made the plans “for me,” tonight I experienced my first dinner-and-burlesque show.

Dancers can-canned and careened to the likes of 1970s hits like “Lady Marmalade.” They shimmied, strutted and sashayed to Big Band era songs. Pranced, pirouetted and pole-danced to…heck, I can’t even remember. Why? Basically I was too busy texting photos for the shock value of it. Two percent of the time I snapped pics; the other 98 I was staring at my phone screen sending the snapshots far and wide, waiting for the responses of disbelief to roll in.

Replies ranged from: “Figures!” to “Elementary school play?”

Not the wide-eyed, incredulous type of reaction I was going for.

The best–and, coincidentally most accurate–comeback was, “where did your husband find the coupon and how much did it save him?”

Dead. On.

Said husband confided that he’d gotten a deal on one of the coupon sites, you know, buy one, get a set of Ginzu knives free kinda thing.

It’s ok. Our knives are dull anyway, and coupon or no, cheap date or not, this is definitely one for the “new experience” list.
____________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

7 thoughts on “Day 51: Dining Al Burlesque

  1. One of the best things I have found for my back is a Burlesquercise class – Burlesque inspired exercise. I kid you not! It’s actually helped me build up much needed core muscles to help support my poor spine.

      • No costumes, just gym/active gear. A lot of lower body exercises/dance – hips, butt, core and thighs. It’s a woman-only class as it does involve a bit of hip grinding and cleavage wiggling! Great fun though, and it’s been great for my back 🙂

  2. I’ve always wanted to go to a burlesque show. My sister’s previous housemate started burlesque but she didn’t want to see her housemate in a state of undress so always refused to go. But while in vegas, hopefully we’ll find something without people we know.

    • Oh, I’m sure in Vegas you will have your pick of burlesque shows! I bet the costumes are amazing, too. As for who you know, just think of it this way: If anyone spots you at the show, it just means they are there watching it, too. The opportunities to blackmail will cancel each other out. 🙂

Post a Comment

