Day 50: Binge-Watching Corrupted Politicians

House_of_Cards_title_card

What better way to celebrate the half-way point to my 100-day challenge by experiencing another first: binge-watching an entire season of a TV show… After all, after my taxing time on the beach in Puerto Rico, I need a rest.

I devoured the second season of Netflix’s House of Cards, the devilishly sinister Kevin Spacey, Robin Wright PennFoster romp about government and the behind-the-scenes power plays.

Although my eyes are crossing from staring at the screen for so many hours in a row, I feel a sense of accomplishment akin to what I felt when I was able to successfully pull an all-nighter during graduate school to finish a paper.

I don’t want to toss any spoilers your way, but I will say there are some things that require a complete suspension of reality.  Others had foreshadowing so obvious they might as well have smacked the viewers over the head with some 2x4s.

Also, that whole business about the you-know-what with the driver? Really?

The show also left me with a lot of burning questions, such as:

  • What was the deal with showing Feng’s, er, extracurricular activities? It didn’t seem to tie into anything else…I thought for sure he’d eventually end up with a you-know-what on his head and an “accident” that got him out of the storyline, but that’s not what happened. I guess it was just to point out what a freak he was.
  • Is you-know-who really dead, or just lying there in the woods with a nasty headache?
  • What the hell is the point of that mop-creature, Cashew? Can *I* step on it?

Anyway, now that I’ve honed my binge-watching skills, I’m prepared to do some major viewing while on the plane to Iceland. Now I just have to figure out what to watch next…

_______
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

5 thoughts on “Day 50: Binge-Watching Corrupted Politicians

  1. Augh. I’ve heard such good reviews about that show but Kevin Spacey is bugging me so much right now! May have to get to it after exhausting practically every other Netflix option. Have you watched “The Killing”. Set aside a few days of doing nothing else…

    • Haven’t watched “The Killing,” but you betcha it’s on my list now! Thanks!

      House of Cards is like watching a cow step in the middle of the tracks as you hear the whistle blowing from the distance. KS’s character (whom has the initials FU, incidentally) gets increasingly drunk on power, feels more and more invincible. But we know better. He’s going down. Eventually.

  2. I haven’t started Season 2 of House of Cards yet, but hopefully soon. Shows like that really make me question how the world is run. its a bit scary.
    A similar show if you like corrupt politicians is Rake. But the Australian version. I know the American version has just been made. Its about a lawyer, but there are lots of corrupt politicians that feature in it.
    I wonder if people really live like that. My life seems so tame and honest in comparison.

Post a Comment

