Day 45: Sneaking Into a Movie

Image

Today I finally got to see American Hustle. David O. Russell’s fabulous follow-up film to Silver Linings Playbook did not disappoint. Oscar material, to be sure.

But, as you know, this isn’t a film review site, so I’ll move right on to my “new experience:”

I snuck into a second film after Hustle finished.

Yeah, you heard me! Don’t,um, call the authorities, though.

My friends in high school used to do this all the time. I, on the other hand, was the kinda kid who was afraid of my shadow, let alone breaking the rules in any major way. I figured if I got nabbed now, maybe I could borrow Uncle Leo’s method.

Ok, ok…I’m not old enough to pull it off as is, but with my untapped, exemplary acting skills and a knit shawl or two, maybe I could. After all, I *do* have the shuffle down, courtesy of my spinal cord surgery.

At this juncture, you may be on the edge of your seat wondering which movie I unlawfully saw.

Well…I, er…I…I….

I joined my kids in the Lego Movie, ok?! Yes, my theft resulted in wholesome family time! So sue me. (Actually, please don’t).

Maybe *I* oughta sue David O. Russell. After all, clearly American Hustle broke my moral compass. As a result of the movie, suddenly everything, as Irving said, no longer looked black and white; instead, all I saw was just a whole lotta gray. A whole lotta gray and money left over for another popcorn and soda.

_________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

3 thoughts on “Day 45: Sneaking Into a Movie

Post a Comment

