Day 35: First Day of Training for a 5K

article-0-0E48CE6E00000578-554_634x749

Spinal cord surgery and all, I had my first training session on pavement for the 5K I hope to do someday.

A friend—enlisted  pretty much against his will to be my partner in crime—summarized the situation in this way after I ran shuffled about ten steps while he looked on: “Ummm….” (Note: It was uttered with a facial expression that usually accompanies severe constipation.)

I straggled and stumbled along a bit further, just to prove I could. The movement required an unusual amount of effort to throw each leg forward and then haul it back; heavy blocks of wood attached at the knees.  Sweat beaded on my brow. My arms were concrete; thighs slippery chicken.

I stopped to take a well-earned rest against an iron fence post.

At this point nearly two whole minutes had lapsed.

I looked at my friend, who rolled his eyes. “Are you sure you wouldn’t rather, you know, take up knitting?”

I told him exactly where I’d like to shove a couple of knitting needles…if I actually had any.  And then I walked around the rest of the block, head high (well, for half of the way…until holding my head high got too tiring).

Depending on how I feel tomorrow, this may either be the first day of my training…or the first and last.  Either way, it’s still a new experience. Day 35, check.

________________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

Post a Comment

