Day 34: Getting a Call From an Executive Recruiter

Image

When my friends or family would tell me about the calls they received from “head hunters,” I’d always say something like,”how come no one ever calls ME? What’s wrong with MY head, that nobody wants it?”

Well, today I actually got such a call.

It was…weird.

I didn’t like it.

As the woman on the other end of the phone droned on about a position in Delaware (I have nothing against Delaware; then again, I have nothing for it, either), I swear I could hear her filing her nails.

I have to admit it did sound like it might be a good fit; however, the chances of me uprooting my life to move to Delaware are slim to none, unless it involves Bradley Cooper and kissing scenes.

I did a little online Anthropologie shopping while she continued her pitch, then politely declined moving to the next step.

In my experience, getting a call from an executive recruiter isn’t much different from getting a call from my dentist’s office, telling me it’s time for a cleaning and offering me several options for appointment times.

It was, however, a new experience.

________________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

Post a Comment

