Day 32: Deciding to Train for a 5K

Image

On the heels of my obsession with the Silver Linings Playbook film–which features miles of footage of Coop running not only to get in shape, but to help gain some control over his life–I’ve decided I need a goal to help me maintain motivation in my recovery.

I feel like I’ve stalled a bit, and watching all that running and dancing in the movie has galvanized me. I’m sure I’d be even more inspired if I had Bradley Cooper as a running/dance partner, but alas…

Anyway, I’m not sure I can do it given my limitations, but if I train slowly, I hope that I will be able to eventually walk/jog my way past a 5K finish line.

Bradley, if you’re reading this, perhaps you’ll be waiting for this gimpy spinal cord surgery recovery patient me at the end, arms spread wide to congratulate me on my victory.

That would make you a stand-up guy, indeed…and certainly would contribute to my silver lining.

________________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

Post a Comment

