Day 31: Liking the Movie Way More Than the Book

silver_linings_playbook_cover_book

I’ve never liked a film adaptation more than the book. Really. I can’t think of one time.

Until now.

Continuing my obsession with The Silver Linings Playbook movie (yes, I watched it four times in a row),  it only made sense to give the novel a chance. So I read it. In one sitting (not because it was so enthralling; because it’s short).

So, this is a “first,” for sure:

  • Watching a movie four times in a row
  • Reading the book in one sitting
  • And then immediately watching the movie again…for a fifth time.

I admit it. It sounds a little…crazy.

I hear there’s medication for this type of obsessive behavior.

But, seriously… I don’t care what others say about the book. I loathed it. I especially despised how Pat sounded so childlike. I cringed at how Tiffany was markedly more manipulative and mean than she was portrayed in the screen play, and how she very nearly was painted as a “cougar.” And I was bitter about the relationship–or lack thereof–with Pat Sr.

As I said, I watched the movie yet another time after I read the book, and I’ve decided to upgrade it. It is a great movie, with great acting, and an even greater screen adaptation.

Go, David O. Russell. Touchdown!

________________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

5 thoughts on “Day 31: Liking the Movie Way More Than the Book

    • That must’ve been really fun to watch! I used to live in SF and my apartment building was in the film Vertigo…and, get this: Jimmy Stewart described the neighborhood as “skid row!”

    • What you say is true; I was almost embarrassed to say I liked the movie better. (Along the same vein, I like the Walking Dead TV show more than the comics, but that’s mainly because there’s no Daryl Dixon.)

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. Let me know if you have any ideas for good “firsts” I can try during the remaining days of my challenge.

Post a Comment

