Day 30: Obsessing Over Silver Linings

Image

 

I finally watched Silver Linings Playbook.

Four times.

In a row.

Don’t get me wrong. It was a very good movie. Not the most fantabulous one ever made, but a very, very good one– mainly because of the actors’ performances. [Also, it’s too bad the two leads are so ugly; otherwise it might have been even easier to watch (snark).]

Let me tell you why I watched a movie four times in a row, aside from the fact that I have a huge crush on Bradley-Blue-Eyes-Cooper. It’s not a pretty reason: It’s because I can relate.

There’s a certain amount of craziness in each of us that for the most part we can conceal (ok, I kind of regret writing that… it sounds an awful lot like a Billy Joel song). It might not all be at the level of diagnosis, but we all probably agree that there really is no “normal.” Heck, even the experts acknowledge it’s time to rethink what is meant by normal…it’s a freaking museum exhibit, for G-d’s sake.

Anyway, I recognize elements of my own struggles in those of the characters. There are parts that it almost hurt to watch. But thank goodness this is Hollywood, and I got my happy ending.

Perhaps this is real reason I’ve watched it four times in a row…less because I relate, and more because after I watched it the first time, it became a guaranteed happy ending.

And, of course, because I can say watching a movie four times in a row is “new experience.” Check!

_________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

Post a Comment

