Day 29: Having a JFC! Moment

eeyore-sad

Found out this morning that a far-flung friend, “B,” had a stroke and is in an induced coma. They don’t yet know the extent of the damage.

Now, I’m not 23 (as I’ve stated several times throughout this blog), but I’m also not a part of the geriatric crowd. Certainly I’m aware that this can happen at any age… but it ain’t so common in younger folk.

And it’s just…plain…w*r*o*n*g.

Here’s a vibrant women with a family, going about her day as usual…probably making soy butter and organic preserves sandwiches, wrapping up a work meeting or catching up on Breaking Bad, when… JFC!…she doesn’t have a fender bender, or break a toe, or even have some gall-bladder thingy… she has stroke!

Just last week “B” sent me a message asking how my recovery was going, and we chatted for the first time in a while. We ticked off how many people we know who’ve had totally off -the-wall health issues, getting all conspiracy theorist-y regarding why… and then what does she do?

She goes and has an effing stroke on me.

Before you think I’ve gone all Hannah Horvath, know that I *am* deeply concerned for my friend. [Spoiler alert! A recent Girls episode features a minor character death, and Hannah feels nothing…nothing except concern for what’s going to happen with her e-book; can you say, “sociopath?”]

Although B’s condition is front and center in my mind, I also can’t help that niggling little voice inside asking, “What the hell is going on here? Is my run of bad luck over, or am I on deck for something else?”

Needless to say, this whole stroke situation is a “first.” Normally, I’d verbally vomit something snarky like maybe she’d read too many 50 Shades of Grey books or listened to one too many Katy Perry songs, but I won’t. It’s not right. Instead, I’ll thank the universe that I only had a spinal tumor and keep my eyes down. I don’t wanna know if something else is lurking around the corner.  And if it is, I have only one thing to say to it:  FU.

__________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

6 thoughts on “Day 29: Having a JFC! Moment

Post a Comment

