Day 28: Warming Up to Icelandic Fashion

PatternCrop

My brain is about to melt and seep through all my facial orifices with info overload on Iceland tours and activities. I figured a good way to take a break from this initial flurry of vacation research–and still get my “first”–would be to do a little scouting on Icelandic fashion.

I mean, I can’t go to Iceland dressed in one of those traditional Icelandic wool sweaters, the ones with those circular yoke designs, can I? How Ameri-moronic would I seem strolling down Laugavegur, Reykjavik’s main shopping street, wearing a freaking stereotypical Nordic pullover?

Well, guess what I’ve learned?

People in Iceland wear traditional Icelandic wool sweaters, the ones with those circular yoke designs.

“In Reykjavik, the sweater is practically a uniform for Icelanders.” 

Er, what?! Come again?

I’m not sure I can do it. I’ve always thought of those sweaters as the fashion fare of mid-west farmer’s wives and grandmas. (Not that there’s anything wrong with that; it’s just that I’m neither a farmer’s wife nor grandma. Or from the mid-west.)

I might have to just stick with my boring basic black zip-up and call it a day.

A7XU-JK3-TNF-Crescent-Sunset-Hoodie-Wms-TNF Black-F13
My husband, on the other hand, is apparently in for quite an Icelandic wardrobe ride:

jor
I can see it. I really can.

Too bad he can’t.

_______

Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

Post a Comment

