Day 22: Feeling Blue While Watching Snowballs Fly

THE SECRET LIFE OF WALTER MITTY

Not sure what’s wrong with me today, but I’ve never been able to feel sad watching kids frolic in the snow.

Usually the sound of a snowball hitting its target, unadulterated giggles and yelled promises of alliances make me smile.

For some reason, that’s not the case today. This is a first. And not a good one.

Maybe I yearn for my own childhood, or more precisely, a simpler time. Maybe I wish I didn’t have to deal with the aftermath of the spinal surgery. Maybe I’m even more upset than I let on that there are no real leads on finding my Peeta. Maybe it’s my Walter Mitty wanderlust getting the best of me.

Or…maybe I’m just so *freaking* tired that I’m literally incapable of mustering anything that resembles a feeling of joy.

I wanted to have a new experience each day of 2014. Well, this is mine today. Like the old saying goes: “Be careful what you wish for.”

Oh, snap. What is my problem? Clearly I need to think about more important things than what I’m feeling. Like, will others start tuning into BBC’s Orphan Black so that it will be renewed for more seasons? And, why did I dislike The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo book so much when everyone else raved?

These, and other pressing questions, should certain take precedence over boring ol’ pity parties.

____________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

Post a Comment

