Day 16: Getting Called in for an Acting Evaluation

Image

Remember when I put in my app to try and become a movie/TV extra? Well, I’ve already gotten an email to come in for “an evaluation.”

Now, either I’m stunningly special and my application and photo *really* wowed them–beyond that of the 736,872 others they received that day–orrrrrrrrr it’s a big ol’ scam. Hmmm… that’s a tough call, but I’m gonna go with…..answer B.

Of course it’s a big ol’ racket.  I’ll go down there at the appointed time and find myself standing around with 400 other not-23 year olds. Then they will tell me I need a professional headshot and–poof!–magically they’ll have a fabulous photographer who just happens to be in room next door, and guess what? I have so much potential that s/he will graciously agree to take my photo for a modest fee of $2500. What luck!

My husband says: Go! Maybe it’ll be fun, and if they ask for money tell them no.

I say: Oh, sure, and waste a perfectly good 3-4 hours of my life just to find out that I’m *not* stunningly special? Shoot, I can stay at home and learn that.

And yet, getting that email asking me to come in for an acting evaluation…definitely a first, scam or not….

____________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

Post a Comment

