Day 15: Becoming Peeta’s Pen Pal

3077918-peeta_mellark_5

A few days ago I wrote a blurb about trying to track down an old friend. To maintain confidentiality I referred to him as “Peeta.”

Well, guess what: I. Found. Peeta!

If you read my original post, you’ll see that I sent an email to the company where I thought he worked. I guess the message must’ve somewhat intrigued the gatekeeper who read it, because s/he passed it on to Peeta…with enthusiasm, by the way.

“Yes!” S/he answered (I couldn’t tell from the name whether the writer was a woman or man). “Peeta DOES work here. I will forward your email to him right away.  I’m sure he will be happy to hear from you!”

I hate to be so trite, but, damn it, my heart did feel like it skipped a beat.  At least 30 times an hour I checked my email.  Maybe 40. Oh, hell, I might as well be honest: I stared at the screen for hours without looking away.

And then I saw it…Peeta answered me. I both giggled and nearly vomited at the same time. I’m not sure why I was so nervous…I suppose I was worried that over the years he’d come to his senses. After all, even watching pigeons peck buttons gets old after a while.

But I’m not the type to shy away from controversy or conflict.  So I clicked. The message blossomed in the window, his name seemingly blinking on a marquee.

Then, I turned away, unable to read it…

Don’t be ridiculous; of course I didn’t. What, are you a moron? I read it immediately.

“You sound really intent on finding Peeta,” it started. “And I’m sorry to say that, while I am Peeta, I’m not the Peeta you’re seeking.”

Oh, snort. I found Peeta… just not the right Peeta. But I read on…

“But can we still be friends?” Peeta II asked. “You seem like a nice person. And no one has ever tried to find me. At least not that I know of. We could pretend that I’m the other Peeta, couldn’t we?” There was a winking smiley-face emoticon at the end.

This Peeta actually appears to have a better sense of humor than the original.

I typed back an apology for taking up his valuable time and for making him worry about a potential stalker. He replied that it was the most excitement he’s had at work for years.  Maybe ever.

Do I have a new pen pal? Is it weird that I have a new pen pal with the same name as my old friend? I’m pretty certain the answer is yes. Not to mention that while I am most assuredly not a serial killer, there’s no guarantee that Peeta II isn’t one…

Regardless, at least I have my new experience for the day…and a new Peeta, to boot.

____________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

One thought on “Day 15: Becoming Peeta’s Pen Pal

Post a Comment

