Day 11: Dealing with a Block by Being a Block(head)

20140112-120046.jpg

Today I sat in the street. I just couldn’t think of any other “firsts.”  Not one. At least, not one that I could actually accomplish and write about before 11:59PM.  Call it a departure delay, if you will.

But, for better or for worse, lame as it may be, I plunked my tush on concrete  so I would keep my promise to myself to try something new each day (and, of course, to have something to post). Heck, I figured if I was having a block, the best way to meet it was head on… to embrace it…to be the block. So there I was, in my yoga pants and sweatshirt, arms and legs akimbo, planted smack dab in the middle of the road.

Um, did I mention I live in a city? One that loves its peppy “of-course-I-can-drive-this-thing” zipcar renters and rabid bikers who spin wildly around corners, earbuds in, fingers tap-tapping on their iPhones while they steer with their knees?

Some might say with this stunt I was more blockhead than block.

Don’t worry your pretty little head, though. I was quite pathetic–I picked a quaint little tree-lined residential lane with more dog-walking traffic than vehicular. I looked both ways about 43 times, and actually only sat for about .2 nanoseconds…. but still….it counts. It does. Says me.

____________________________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page. 

Post a Comment

