Day 9: Giving Up Control of My Wardrobe

clothing-swap

As as said in my post about letting someone else determine my coffee order, it felt kind of freeing not to have to make my own decision. All right, so it didn’t turn out so great… but the experience was interesting enough for me to want to try something similar.

A friend told me about a personal shopping site that picks outfits for you based on your responses to questions. Each month you get a box filled with stuff that will supposedly make you exclaim something along the lines of, “Holy Batman, they’ve never met me and yet what they’ve chosen is PERFECT!”

We’ll see.  I am curious, and I DO hate clothes shopping.  It would be great if an individual more skilled and interested than I could do all that hunting-and-gathering and color-complementing.  Frankly, I waste too much time browsing online and then either (1) giving up and getting nothing, because I am overwhelmed; or (2) making horrible choices. How was I to know that that the wineberry dolman-sleeved sweater wouldn’t look good with those dark-wash boot-cut distressed jeans? How was I to know that people don’t even wear boot cut jeans anymore and that the wineberry color was, like, so 2011?

Also, when I purchase stuff online, I then have the bother of sending it back. And shopping in a brick and mortar store appeals to me even less. When a sales associate asks, “Can I help you?” My reply to them is, “I dunno. Are you a psychiatrist? A babysitter who has passed a background check? Certified in refrigerator repair?”  The blank stares kill any desire to engage them in important, intellectual debates of to animal print or not to animal print.

So, today I filled out my questionnaire and typed in my credit card.  My first box is to arrive on 1/22.  Needless to say, I’ve never before solicited the services of someone to build my wardrobe for me.  While I’m willing to give it a whirl, my suspicion is that it’ll  turn into another HO HO MINT MOCHA situation.  I HO HO HOPE not.

____________________________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page. 

3 thoughts on “Day 9: Giving Up Control of My Wardrobe

  1. Great sense of humour you have. I spelled that the English way, just for you because for some reason it occurred to me that you’re in Great Britain. Why I think that I’m not sure, and if you’re not, then just read it as humor. Which you have, as well as a very clever writing style.

Post a Comment

