Day 3: Walking Barefoot in the Snow (And Having a Neighbor Yell at Me)

20140103-091442.jpg

Wow, my first two-fer and I didn’t even have to work at it…

It snowed a bit last night, and I’ve never walked barefoot in the white stuff. Until today. Now I have. It’s cold. What a revelation, eh? It actually felt kinda good, too, for the first 6.3 milliseconds. Invigorating. It didn’t give me impetus to join the Polar Bear Club (those crazy kids who go swimming in rivers and lakes in sub-freezing weather), but it definitely woke me up…

As did the neighbor’s worried, high-pitched croak. He just happened to be outside shoveling his sidewalk when I dipped out the front door. Below is a reasonable facsimile of our conversation:

Him: “What the heck are you doing outside in bare feet?!”

Me: “Ummm…”

Him: “You’ll fall! It’s icy!”

Me: “Errrrr…”

Him, head cocked and serious: “Still on those meds, huh?”

First time I’ve been yelled at by the neighbor (this particular one, anyway), though clearly he did so out of concern. It’s not everyday that you see a someone recovering from spinal cord surgery standing outside, partially naked on slick, metal stairs in 19 degree weather. Hey! I’ve created a “first” for someone else, too! It’s a good day…

______________________
Each day of 2014, I’m forcing encouraging myself to have at least one new experience (and chronicling it to keep it real). If you’re interested in why–though I can’t for the life of me imagine anyone would be that bored–check out the “about” page.

Post a Comment

